Diana Jue-Rajasingh

New Delhi Orientation, Flight Down to Bangalore

Posted in Fulbright, India, Traveling by Diana on August 11, 2012

Being welcomed by the Fulbright-Nehru India team.

Greetings from Bangalore! I reached last night, after spending two evenings in New Delhi for the Fulbright orientation. The orientation was a good thing — we went over grant particulars and various requirements, learned more about what to expect form India (although I would say that half of us had already been to India at least once), met the United States-India Educational Foundation (USIEF) staff members who have been answering our nagging emails/phone calls/questions over the past month, and of course, met each other. The assortment of individuals and research topics is rather wide, although it seems like the main topics are 1) arts and culture, 2) public health, and 3) education. At least, that’s the feeling that I got. I believe I’m the only person studying public administration.

As mentioned before, the Taj Hotel in New Delhi is incredibly swanky. It’s located with all of the foreign embassies — not quite the India that I’ve come to know. However, it was very comfortable, and I could definitely sleep off the jet lag. The service was sometimes incredible (sometimes too incredible; it was as if they knew all of our needs before we made them publicly known). And I much appreciated this cookie that one of the the waiters dropped off with me and my roommate during breakfast. It seemed like we were the only people in the restaurant who got one, and I don’t know why.

Thanks, waiter guy!

After our second day of orientation, we scattered across the country. About seven of us are down in Bangalore, which is a considerable number. Prior batches usually focused on the north, but the south is becoming more and more popular. We made it to our Bangalore hotel around 9pm or so, and I headed out soon after to meet up with some old friends from Bangalore and from Spain. Strange, I know, but honestly, you never know who you’re going to run into when traveling.

Leave a Reply

